On the 21st and 22nd of February, Morton in the Community hosted their annual awards evenings for the small sided teams for what will go down as another successful year for our boys’ teams.

The evening was hosted by Football Project Worker, Blair Kelly who began proceedings with a reflection on 2019 and the success it brought to Morton in the Community. Highlights of the year include our 2012’s squads going to the Drumchapel tournament, Three of our 2010s being signed up by Morton Youth academy and our 2009’s heading off to St Georges (England’s national training facility) to compete in a tournament and see first-hand what a national team training facility are like.

Blair then went on to outlay the plans for the rest of 2020 including the well anticipated annual Cappielow Tournament and thanked all the Coaches, players and parents for their continued support of Morton in the Community.

Up next was the awards for all squads for their effort over the season. After well anticipated buffet it was time for the individual award winners which were as follows:

Most Club minded 

2013s – Jacob Glancy
2012s – Adam McKendrick
2010s – Edwin Docherty
2009s – Nathan McKendrick & Lucas McNelis
2008s – Robert Hunter & Louie Kimmins

Players Player of the Year

2010s – Joseph Gisbey
2009s – Niall Kelly, Lucas McFarlane & Nathan McKendrick
2008s – Jamie Ennis

Coaches Player of the Year

2010s – Anthony Ward & Sam Aird
2009s – Niall Kelly & Lucas McFarlane
2008s – Jonny Aitken & Lee O’Donnell

The awards finished with a special thanks to coach Stevie Morris and son Max. Stevie has been instrumental in creating the 2010 squad and both leave with a massive thank you from everyone at Morton in the Community. Max leaves us as he signs for another Academy and we wish them well within the next stage of their journey.

Finally, a thank you to George at Trophy Box and to The Exchange for hosting us and helping with the running of the night.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This